Concert 2: Anton Lukoszevieze


October 8th, 1.00 pm at the Watchtower Gallery

The Melancholy of Departure


Joanna Bailie               Trains for cello and fixed media

Linda Catlin Smith       Ricercar

Joseph Dall’Abaco       Caprice No. 1

Christopher Fox          The Principle of Design

Joseph Dall’Abaco       Caprice No.4

Egidija Medekšaitė     Oscillum for cello and fixed media

Photo Credit: Tomas Terekas

Cellist, composer and inter-disciplinary artist Anton Lukoszevieze is one of the most diverse performers of his generation and is notable for his performances of avant-garde, experimental and improvised music. Anton has given many performances at numerous international festivals throughout Europe and the USA (Maerzmusik, Donaueschingen, Wien Modern, GAS, Transart, Ultima) and BBC Radio 3. Deutschlandfunk, Berlin produced a radio portrait of him in September, 2003. Anton has also performed concerti with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra the Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra, as well as performances with contemporary vocal ensemble Exaudi and King’s College Choir, Cambridge. He is notable for his use of the curved bow (BACH-Bogen), which he is using to develop new repertoire for the cello. From 2005-7 he was New Music Fellow at King’s College, Cambridge and Kettle’s Yard Gallery. Anton is the subject of seven films by the renowned artist-filmmaker Jayne Parker. In addition he acted and performed in 3 films by the artist Beatrice Gibson. From 2003-14 he was a member of Zeitkratzer and in 2008 made his contemporary dance debut with the Vincent Dance Company in Broken Chords, Dusseldorf.

His compositions have been performed by Apartment House, Exaudi, Rhodri Davies, Lucia Mense, Mark Knoop, Musica Nova, Tel Aviv and An Assembly.
Anton has premiered and commissioned new works for cello by a multitude of
contemporary composers, including Christian Wolff, Amnon Wolman, Kunsu Shim, Laurence Crane, Richard Ayres, Phill Niblock, Jennifer Walshe, Claudia Molitor, Rytis Mažulis, Arturas Bumšteinas, Ričardis Kabelis, Juste Janulytė, James Saunders, John Lely, Tim Parkinson, Peter Eötvös, Egidija Medekšaite, Joseph Kudirka, Zbigniew Karkowski, Michael Winter and Reinhold Friedl.
He has made many CD and vinyl releases.
In June 2009 he was awarded the ‘Millennium Star’ medal, for services to Lithuanian culture, by the Government of the Republic of Lithuania.
In 2012 he was awarded a Royal Philharmonic Society Award for outstanding contribution to chamber music.
He is the founder and Director of Apartment House.