Concert III

Frankland String Quartet

St. Andrew’s Church, Berwick-upon-Tweed

October 22, 1.30 – 2.30 pm

Sophie Appleton (violin)
Sarah Roberts (violin)
James Slater (viola)
Daniel Hammersley (cello)

Formed in 2017, the Frankland Quartet’s musical identity is embedded in the North East of England. Long-time colleagues in Royal Northern Sinfonia, the Quartet has a deep commitment to the cultural life of the area, inspired by its landscape, its history and communities.

The Quartet’s programme was centred on Dvořák’s popular String Quartet, Op. 96 (American), and also included two new works by North East composers, Janet Graham and James Weeks, both of whose works are influenced by the climate crisis.


James Weeksweatherworld (world premiere)
Janet GrahamEarth Shout (world premiere)
Antonín DvořákString Quartet no 12 in F minor, op 96
(American Quartet)