Concert II


Fiona Winning (solo viola)

Scottish violist Fiona Winning was until 2014 Principal Viola of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. She has been a regular guest principal of the Philharmonia and London Philharmonic Orchestras, including four seasons at Glyndebourne Opera.

Fiona’s concert last year, interleaving Bach and Ligeti, was a huge success. This year, the centrepiece of her programme was Bach’s second cello suite, transcribed for viola. Her programme also included the winning piece from this year’s BMS international composition competition, Lucy Freia’s Kutidhieng, and we were delighted that Lucy was present to hear Fiona’s performance and to receive her prize from Councillor Rosemary Mackenzie of Berwick Town Council. Fiona also gave the first performance of BMS Artistic Director Michael Worboys’ work Promising Flight.

J S BachCello Suite No. 2 in D minor
BWV 1008 (transcribed for viola)
György KurtágGames Signs and Messages (extracts)
Robert FokkensÉtude
Lucy FreiaKutidhieng (BMS Open Competition winner)
Michael WorboysPromising Flight (with vocalist Margaret Rowland)