Concert I

Darragh Morgan (solo violin)

St. Andrew’s Church, Berwick-upon-Tweed

September 23, 1.00 – 2.00 pm

We were delighted to welcome back violinist Darragh Morgan. Described by The Strad Magazine as ‘hugely impressive, he plays with seemingly effortless control’, Darragh is a renowned exponent of contemporary music. He has appeared as a soloist at the Aldeburgh Festival and BBC Proms.

Darragh’s programme was a fascinating blend of classical music, new music and folk tunes, and we were very pleased that composer Sam Hayden joined us to hear Darragh’s performance of Picking Up the Pieces.


J S BachPreludio from Partita No 3 in E major BWV 1006
Allemande & Sarabande from Partita No 2 in D minor BWV 1004
Shirley J. ThompsonBlue Iris (1989)
Turlough CarolanPlanxty & Eleanor Plunkett
Thomas ConnellanCarolan’s Dream
Yannis KyriakidesSnake Music (1993)
Traditional folk musicGreek-Cypriot, Turkish-Cypriot, North Macedonian: Skopsko Oro
Sam HaydenPicking up the Pieces (1990-91 revised 2019)
Traditional folk musicIrish: An Buinneán Buí & The Dawn