Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BMS 2021Talk: the Chamber Music of Felix Mendelssohn

October 8, 2021 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

A talk by Prof. Michael Worboys

The Berwick Music Series combines live concerts by nationally and internationally known performers, and educational events for those who would like to know more about classical and modern music. There is a Northern flavour to this year’s Series: there are North Eastern composers featured in our concerts, one of our lectures is on composers from the North East; and we have a composition competition on the theme “North”.

The chamber works of the German composer Felix Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847) range from early piano quartets begun when he was only 12 years old, through the magnificent Octet (1825) to a large collection of mature works culminating in pieces such as his last completed chamber piece, the String Quartet in F minor, written in the year of his death. This talk will briefly survey the range of work, before focusing on the String Quartet in A minor, to be performed by the Frankland Quartet. This work was composed in 1827, a few months after the death of Beethoven, and relies heavily on compositional techniques of the late Beethoven string quartets. It is Mendelssohn’s first mature string quartet and a fine example of work in the early romantic period.

All are welcome and no previous knowledge is assumed.

This lecture will be delivered via Zoom. If you haven’t used Zoom before, please go to www.zoom.us and look at the tutorials. Once you have booked, you will find the Zoom invitation in the Online Event Page on Eventbrite. You will also receive an email with the invitation 24 hours before the event. If you can’t find the invitation, please email berwickea@gmail.com.

If you book this course online, we will hold your personal data in accordance with our privacy policy. If you do not wish us to hold your personal data, please book by post (see www.berwickea.co.uk) and do not supply an email address.